Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy - Dallas

Occupational therapy research guide for TWU Dallas students, faculty and staff.

logo for refworks

Proquest Refworks is a citation manager. Citation managers allow you to upload and organize citations for future reference, create bibliographies with ease, assist with in-text citations, upload full text articles, highlight and annotate uploaded articles, and share with colleagues during collaborative group projects. 

Currently, RefWorks is the citation manager of choice for Texas Woman's University.

Refworks: how to...

Step 1. go to https://refworks.proquest.com/

Step 2. click on create account

screen shot of Refworks splash page with arrow pointing to the create account link

Step 3. Click in 'enter your institutional email to begin', enter your TWU email address. 

Screen shot of Refworks with an arrow pointing to the 'enter your institutional email to begin' link.

picture of a monitor providing link to a video tutorial Click on Monitor for video tutorial.

Step 1. From your list of saved citations, select only those you wish to include in your bibliography.

Step 2. Click on the "create bibliography" link.

Screen shot of Refworks showing 'all references page' with step one arrow quote" select only those citations you want to include in your bibliography" Step 2 arrow quote "click on 'create bibliography'"

Step 3. Click on the 'create bibliography' link

Step 4. Select the citation style of your choice, here it is set to APA 6th Edition but Refworks also features AMA, Chicago, etc

Screen shot of Refworks with arrow pointing to 'select citation style' drop down menu, and arrow pointing to the bibliography generated by Refworks from the citations that were specified

Step 5. Either copy and paste the bibliography Refworks generated to your paper or copy it to your clipboard.

Librarian avatar with quote “No automatic bibliography creator is perfect. Remember the ultimate responsibility for your bibliography being correct is with you”

 

Librarian avatar with quote

The direct method: demonstrated on Cinahl

Step 1. select the articles you wish to upload. They will be sent to a main folder (arrow 2).

Step 2. click on folder icon.

Screen shot of Cinahl database with arrow 1 pointing to article selection and arrow 2 pointing to the folder where selected articles get stored after selection

Step 3. Once in the main storage folder, re-select the articles you want to upload to Refworks.

Step 4. Click on the export icon.

Screen shot of Cinahl with arrow 3 pointing to selected articles, and arrow 4 pointing to the export icon

Step 5. double check to be sure that the database is set to output to the citation manager of your choice.

Step 6. click save. A separate window with the citation manager you requested will pop up and, after you sign in, your citations will automatically be uploaded.

Screen shot of Cinahl's export manager page with arrows pointing to 'citation manager selection' and 'save' icon

The indirect method: demonstrated on PubMed

Step 1. Select and click on the citations you wish to upload

Step 2. Click on the 'send to' icon

Screen shot of PubMed with arrow pointing to a selection of citations and the 'send to' icon

 

Step 3. Click on 'create file

Step 4. The file will be sent tby default to your hard drive's download folder. You can choose your own storage location should you wish.

Screen shot of PubMed with arrows pointing to 'create file' icon and the downloaded file located on bottom left of the screen

Step 5. click on the 'ADD' icon. this will open a drop down submenu.

Step 6. from the submenu select import references.  Note* You can upload full text documents by selecting 'upload document' here or manually create a new citation by selecting 'create new reference'.

Screen shot of Pubmed with arrows pointing to 'ADD' icon and its subsequent submenu, specifically 'import references'. 'import references'

Step 7. Click on 'select file from your computer'. Go to the file that PubMed created and click on it. Your articles will now be uploaded.

Screen shot of PubMed with arrow pointing to ' select file from your computer' option

Step 1. Click on 'My Folders'

Step 2. From the submenu, click on '+ Add folder'

Step 3. A pop up box will appear in the middle of your screen, type in whatever name you wish to give your new folder.

screen shot of RefWorks with arrows pointing to 'My Folders', 'add folder', & 'name your folder'

Step 4. To share your folder, go to 'my folders' select the folder you wish to share, and click on the three vertical dots beside it

Step 5. From the sub menu select 'share folder'

Screen shot of RefWorks with arrows pointing to '3 vertical dots share options tab' & 'share folder'

Step 6. In the pop up box that appears, type in the email address of the person you wish to share the folder with, for multiple people separate email addresses with a comma

Step 1. Click on the 'tools' main icon

Step 2. Click on 'tools' again, this time from the choices in the submenu

Screen shot of Refworks demonstrating Write and cite

Step 3. Scroll down to write n cite, click on the word processing software of your choice

Step 4. Click on the 'download and install' icon. If prompted, you may need to click on 'other windows and mac versions' to get the correct version for your windows or mac version, e.g. windows 64 bit

Screen shot of refworks with arrow pointing to the three submenus: Microsoft word, Google docs, & hangul, and an arrow pointing to the write n cite 'download and install' icon

Step 5. If you open up Microsoft Word, or Google Docs you will now see a new option tab at the top of the page labeled RefWorks

Step 6. Click on Log in

Step 7. Log into Refworks as you usually would using the pop up sign in box.

undefined

Step 8. You can now link to all your saved citations in Refworks as you write your paper.

Librarian avatar with quote