Research * News * Resources
Dental Hygiene Program
P.O. Box 425796
Denton, TX 76204-5796
940-898-2870 phone
940-898-2869 fax
Dental Hygiene Clinic
Denton Campus
Mary Gibbs Jones Hall, 3rd floor
940-898-2888 phone
DentalHygieneClinic@twu.edu
This is a guide to information sources for dental hygiene students at Texas Woman's University. It aims to make many resources (databases for journal articles, collections of e-books, and other kinds of information) relevant for dental hygiene available in one place.
To the left, you may find links to the various resources. If you can't find what you need, or have any questions along the way, please contact me.
Effective Searching must be planned and methodical. Below are suggested steps for searching.
1. Know your topic. (Background Information)
Dates, names, spellings, definitions, symptoms, etc.
2. List all the search terms for the topic you can think of.
Think SYNONYMS: Formal, Informal, and Technical
3. Ask yourself where might information on your topic be located.
Internet? Books? Newspapers? Journals?
4. Choose your search tool.
TWUniversal? A Database? Google? Google Scholar?
5. Decide which information format you want.
Article? Video? Book Chapter? Audio file? Image?
6. Make a plan.
Database + search terms X, Y & Z + peer-review
7. Explore your topic in several places.
Analyze your results. Which search terms work best?
8. Search again and again and again.
Keep testing search terms in different databases.
9. Archive your citations in RefWorks.
Let RefWorks create your Bibliography automatically.
10. Can't find what you are looking for?
Ask the Librarian assigned to this Subject Guide for help.
Example Database Search for articles:
Example Google Scholar Search for articles:
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association
by
Comprehensive test preparation tool with access to a variety of study materials for many different exams across a broad range of industries.
International Journal of Dental Hygiene
