The Wellness Collection on the third floor of the library contains books on a variety of wellness topics, including physical activity, sleep, nutrition, mental health, personal finance, procrastination, and more!
The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, 4th Edition
by
Choice Outstanding Academic Title! 4 Stars - Doody's! Praise for the Third Edition: "This work will be one that students and clinicians keep on their shelves as the gold-standard reference for health behavior change. Summing up: Essential" --Choice Substantially revised to reflect current trends in the field of health behavior change, this new edition of the highly acclaimed "gold standard" text continues to provide a comprehensive overview of behavior change as it relates to public health. It has been extensively reorganized to eliminate redundancies in the earlier edition, and takes a broader, more pragmatic approach in its coverage of health behavior change. New content includes chapters on lifestyle change and prevention and chronic disease management, with an intensive focus on specific behaviors (i.e. diet and nutrition, tobacco use) and chronic illness (i.e diabetes, heart disease). A new section on Community, System, and Provider Interventions to Support Health Behavior Change focuses on the efficacy of interventions implemented within various systems such as schools, workplaces, and health care systems. The fourth edition also provides learning objectives and discussion questions to facilitate use by course instructors in health psychology, behavioral medicine, and public health. This multidisciplinary text has been authored and edited by highly esteemed practitioners, educators, and researchers who are experts in their specific areas of study. The majority of the text continues to be organized around the specific behaviors and chronic illnesses with the most significant public health impacts in terms of morbidity and mortality. Each chapter explains the significance of a particular problem and reviews the empirical evidence for the various intervention approaches. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively reorganized to eliminate redundancies Updated to encompass the most current research in health behavior change Includes new chapters on Alcohol, Stress and Mood Management, Diabetes, Obesity, The Workplace, Built Environment, and Behavior Data Focuses intensively on specific behaviors and chronic illnesses that significantly affect public health Includes a new section on Community, System, and Provider Interventions to Support Health Behavior Change Applicable to a wide variety of courses including public health, behavior change, preventive medicine, and health psychology Authored by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners with a multidisciplinary focus Includes learning objectives and discussion questions
TWU Libraries has many more books beyond the Wellness Collection. Use the following to search the full library for electronic and print books.
When searching for an e-book in TWUniversal, access the book using the following steps:
1) In your TWUniversal search results, click the title of the book you want to access.
2) After clicking the book title, scroll down the page to the "View It" section. After the words "Full text" is the name of a database where you can access the book. Click the database name.
3) ln most cases, there is no need to download an e-book. Instead, you can click "Read Online" any time you need to access the book.
When using TWUniversal to search for print books, do the following to find the book:
1) After finding a print book in TWUniversal, gather the following information:
2) Go to the floor where the book is located. The shelves of books are arranged alphabetically. If your call number is TX393 .G58 2011, start by finding the T section.
3) Once you've found the T section, find the TX section. This is alphabetical. The sections are TA, TB, TC and so on until you find TX.
4) After you've found the TX section, focus on the number after that. If your call number is TX393 .G58 2011, and you've found the TX's, look for TX393 next.
5) Once you've found the TX393 books, focus on the next letter in the call number. If your call number is TX393 .G58 2011, you need to find TX393 .G next. This is alphabetical again.
6) Once you've found the books that start with TX393 .G, focus on the next numbers in the call number. You now need to find TX393 .G58.
7) Once you find the books that start with TX393 .G58, you've probably already found your book! The final part of the call number, 2011, is the year it was published. This number only matters if you need a particular version of the book or are searching for the newest copy of the book.
To borrow a print book, take the book and your TWU ID card to the desk at the entrance of the library and let a staff member know you'd like to borrow the book. Keep in mind that some books or book collections cannot be checked out and may only be used in the library.
