Skip to main content

Know Before You Go

Help for student graduating and those going on Fieldwork.

Graduating Students

Graduate in blue ink by Nick Youngson

Get a TWU Libraries Courtesy Card. Be our guest.

  • Who Qualifies for a Courtesy Card
  • How to Register
  • Guest Computer Stations with Login
  • Courtesy Card Responsibilities & Privileges
  • Checkout Privileges
  • Visitor Parking

Free WiFi


Restrictions:

  • No printing (bring a USB drive or use email)
  • No Interlibrary Loan services
Other Libraries can offer help to TWU graduates.
  1. Local Public Libraries
  2. Local Hospital / Clinic Libraries
  3. Local College & University Libraries
 

Public Libraries

Public Libraries are often forgotten as useful resources for practicing professionals.

Public Libraries in the State of Texas offer important TexShare databases that professionals will find useful.

Check your local public library website to see which of the TexShare databases your local library provides.


Your local library will have information concerning who can get a Library Card. Check the website carefully. 

Also know that Public Libraries are now offering many online services and resources unlike in the past.

Below are Public Library webpage examples: 

Example: Dallas Public Library


Example: Denton Public Library

Hospital Libraries / Clinic Libraries

Hospitals provide library services to their professional staff. Those libraries may not be labeled libraries, however. They may be called Resource Centers, Learning Centers, Research Services, etc. You may have to ask somebody where the library is located. Some hospital libraries may have university connections as well.

Example: Baylor University Medical Center Hospital Complex Library - Dallas

The Baylor Health Sciences Library (BHS Library) serves the Baylor Institute of Rehabilitation, the Texas A&M School of Dentistry, the Texas A&M Health Sciences Center, and Baylor Scott & White Health - North. The general public is permitted to access the library resources in house.

Example: Medical City Hospital Library - Dallas

Larger hospital systems may have separate patient education/consumer health libraries onsite as well.


Local College & University Libraries

Local college & university libraries often offer resources and services for community members and guests.

Examples:

One of the most pressing needs is accessing full text articles and ebooks.

To access full text articles:   

  • Check the Journal's internet website for free access to archived articles and short-term complementary access to current articles. Some journals open their collections periodically to offer free access.
  • Local public libraries offer Interlibrary Loan services for a minimal fee. Locate a public library near you. Have the full citation ready.
  • Hospitals and larger clinics often have libraries that offer access to full text article and Interlibrary Loan.

To access ebooks: 

  • Check Google Books for access to older texts and books that blank out some pages in order to stay within copyright restrictions.
  • Local public libraries offer Interlibrary Loan services for a minimal fee. Remember, physical books travel snail mail.
    SUGGESTION: Check the ebook Table of Contents and request only the chapters you really need. The chapters will be digitized and emailed to you much quicker.

General Suggestions:

  • Contact state-funded college and university libraries near you. Some have special clinician and community access policies. You may qualify for in-house access and/or circulation privileges.

Free Resources

Locate free ebooks:

Explore free internet resources:

PICO Search Options

RefWorks 3.0

RefWorks logo 2021

RefWorks is a tool to help you with your research:

  • Store and organize citations
  • Create bibliographies instantly

You will continue to have access to your RefWorks account even after you have left TWU.

A TWU Email Username is required.

See TWU Alumni Email instructions below to maintain a TWU Email account after graduation.  [yourname@alumni.twu.edu]

Alumni Email

TWU Alumni Mail

Create a TWU Alumni Email Account to ensure your RefWorks account continues to operate effectively.

Publishing After Graduation

Let TWU help you publish in reputable sources.

Many business ventures seek your commitment to be a presenter at conferences or agree to write papers for their journals, when their journals (or conferences) are nonexistent. Carefully research places to publish, using your public library resources. Once you know where and how you want to get published, be careful to work with only the best quality publishers who will make your work shine!

WARNING Predatory Journals      shard

It can be difficult to identify valid, peer-reviewed, authoritative journals in the mass of publications popping up. Appeals to potential authors from some journals that appear to be scholarly, valid research journals may not be. Be careful. Research could reveal that the appeals may actually be predatory publishers looking to make a quick buck. Please investigate to be sure the journal is legitimate, or ask a librarian for help to investigate the authenticity of a journal before agreeing to publish in it.