LibGuides: Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Guide: Nursing Databases

Nursing: Suggested Databases

Nursing Databases

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Medical textbooks and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for assessment or clinical medicine.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medical information, clinical trials, and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Journal articles focusing on medical disciplines and medication information.
Contains access to AHFS Consumer Medication Information.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Database This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets and technical reports for healthcare workers.
The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed evaluations, and comparative reviews of drugs with conclusions reached by a consensus of experts.
Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based journal articles, citations, dissertations, reference materials, and clinical training videos in several healthcare topics aimed at students and those preparing for their career.
Nursing- Royal College of This link opens in a new window
Journals providing health professionals with the latest developments impacting nursing, including changes in policy, practice and research.
Nursing Collection (Journals at Ovid Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles about allied health and nursing.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation search of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Best viewed in Chrome. Close pop-up box and begin searching. To utilize additional features, users should register for a free Elsevier account.
STAT!Ref (now TDS Health) This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks.
Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books in behavioral science and mental health.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Medical journals, magazines, reference works, and images on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, reference books, pamphlets, and videos covering most healthcare topics.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Citation search of journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
JSTOR Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, primary sources and books, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology journal articles.
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Reference books covering information on diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and medical issues.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in all subjects.
Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical research, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news to support clinicians in their practice and/or care. Limited to use while on campus only.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books in life, health, social, and physical sciences and humanities.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Journal articles about complementary and alternative medicine.
BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window
3D interactive visualizations of anatomy, disease, and treatments. Interactive tools with medical descriptions. Follow the instructions on the "Password Protected Resource" page after logging in with your TWU credentials.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Citation search of journal articles, books and reviews, dissertations and theses, and technical reports related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Health information aimed at patients.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface. Journal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information.
JoVE Essentials of Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
Articles and videos providing an introduction to the field of neuroscience and exploring five major branches of study.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language medical research and investigative journal articles.
Natural & Alternative Treatments This link opens in a new window
Search clinical research studies for medical conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them and the possible drug interactions that treatments may cause. In English and Spanish.

OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics related to health and health systems dating back to 1960.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics, reports, infographics and data points in most subject areas and topics from around the world.

AHRQ Research Tools & Data
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
CDC SNAPS (Snap Shots of State Population Data
State and Local Data Sets and Statistics
CDC Wonder
City Data
Statistics about all U. S. Cities.
Community Health Status Indicators (Local Level)
County Health Rankings
Dallas Ft. Worth Hospital Council Foundation
Healthy North Texas
Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts
National Center for Health Statistics
The Nation's principal health statistics agency. NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource
Provides oral health information for infants, children, adolescents, and pregnant women with resources that analyze data, describe effective programs, and report on policy and research aimed at improving access to and the quality of oral health care.
NHANES - National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
National Data Sets and Statistics
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (PHPartners)
Helping the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health.
Texas Department of State Health Services
U.S. Census Bureau
United States Census Bureau
WISQARS: Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) (formerly Dissertation Abstracts Online & ProQuest Digital Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses in all subject areas from universities around the world.
Dissertations & Theses at Texas Woman's University (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses produced by TWU students. New TWU dissertations and theses are uploaded to the Repository@TWU
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Open access to free electronic theses and dissertations in all subjects, provided through collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Open access to full text and citations of UK doctoral theses in all subject areas dating back to 1800.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Open access, peer-reviewed journals in all subjects.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
Formerly AHRQ National Guideline Clearinghouse
Register for free access
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NLM Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj)

These resources are useful for BASIC or BACKGROUND information about a topic. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Medical textbooks and online learning tools for medical education and board exams review.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online searchable version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Includes images and videos.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Reference books and encyclopedias in many subject areas.
STAT!Ref (now TDS Health) This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books and textbooks.
Mobile app access must be set up on the full website from a desktop computer and must be renewed from the full website every 6 months.