LibGuides: Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Guide: PubMed / Medline with Full Text

PubMed Database

PubMed Database

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences. Links to full text and catalog search for availability.

PubMed is a research tool for researchers and is provided by the National Library of Medicine / National Institutes of Health.

contains BioMedical Sciences literature and other types of data.
Medline is a subset of PubMed.

What is in PubMed? VIDEO

Basic Training Videos

Advanced PubMed Training

VIDEO: PubMed Subject Search: How It Works
Interactive
VIDEO: PubMed Using the Advanced Search Builder
Interactive
VIDEO: PubMed Save Searches and Set E-mail Alerts
Interactive

Online Tutorials

Health Services Research (HSR) PubMed Queries
See quality improvement option
PubMed Clinical Queries
Clinical Study Categories
Systematic Reviews
Medical Genetics
PubMed Clinical Queries Filters
See complex search strategies that limit searches to specific areas in the literature.
- therapy
- diagnosis
- etiology
- prognosis
- clinical prediction guides

MeSH on Demand identifies MeSH terms in abstracts. It also lists PubMed Similar Articles relevant to the abstract.

MeSH on Demand

PubReMiner searches PubMed abstracts and generates frequency tables.

Most journals
Most active authors
Most often used Keywords in Title / Abstracts, and much more...

PubMed PubReMiner

Yale MeSH Analyzer

Copy/Paste up to 20 PubMed PMID numbers into the search box and create a grid for literature analysis.

shows MeSH terms (for comparison across all articles)
shows all article abstracts side-by-side
shows all journals, etc.

This tool is wonderful for identifying search criteria for Scoping Reviews especially.

Medline with Full Text

Medline database is a subset of the much larger PubMed.

Medline with Full Text Database is a version of the Medline database offer by EBSCOhost.

Medline with Full Text uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) just like PubMed does. The computer display for using MeSH in Medline with Full Text is much different however. Watch the video.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Recommended interface Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, and dentistry, veterinary medicine.

PDF Handout

Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) MeSH Search Term Help
This handout will help you find the RIGHT search term for the Medline database.

VIDEO TUTORIAL

This Medline Complete video tutorial is the same for searching Medline with Full Text.

The only difference is that Medline with Full Text has more full text articles.

VIDEO TUTORIAL