Philosophy and religion research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2015
America's Religions: An Educator's Guide to Beliefs and Practices
Benjamin J. Hubbard; John Hatfield; James A. Santucci
Description: Using this "dictionary" of religion and culture, teacher will have access to the understanding they need to build unbiased classrooms. The book is arranged to cover most all of the known (and little known) religions in America from the Bahai Faith to Zoroastrianism. Each section covers topics: Origins, Beliefs, Sacred Book/Scriptures, Practices, Main Subgroups, Common Misunderstandings and Stereotypes, Classroom Concerns, Population Data and Further Readings as well as noting current web page addresses if available. Though there are many guides to religions in America, this book has the unique niche of looking at each religion as it may affect teacher practice in the classroom and other student groups-thus its appeal to public and school libraries as well as classroom teachers and other youth leaders.
- Academic Search Complete
8,500+ full text journals with 7,300 peer-reviewed.
Dates: 1975 to present
Journal Storage (JSTOR) has 1,500+ full-text academic journals.
Online archiving database for academic journals.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary, Law, History, Literature
Dates: 1545 to last 3-5 years
- Philosophy and Religious Studies in Video
150+ films documenting philosophical and religious thought. Documentaries, debates, personal interviews, biographies, and other primary source footage. Ancient Greeks to the Frankfurt School, from Hinduism to Christianity, from Classical Chinese Philosophy to American Pragmatism.
Subject(s) philosophy, religion, current affairs, anthropology, international relations, history,
Dates Varies Updates Monthly
- PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.
- Project Muse
500+journals from 120 scholarly publishers, covering all fields.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary, literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
300 journals, 250 peer-reviewed titles about theology and philosophical studies.
Subject(s): Philosophy and Religion, World religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy
Dates: 1975 to present
7,848,977 resources, articles, chapter, protocols in scientific documents.
Subject(s): Biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.
Did you find the Philosophy and Religion resources on this webpage helpful?