Skip to main content

Nutrition & Food Sciences: NFS 2343: Nutritional Management for Family & Child

Nutrition and food sciences research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.

NFS 2343: Nutritional Management for Family & Child

Finding Articles

Below are some databases that are good for finding nutrition articles. For a more complete list of databases, visit the Articles/Databases page of this guide.

Below are some databases that are good for finding articles related to Family Studies. For a more complete list of databases, visit the Articles/Databases section of the Family Studies subject guide.

Below are some databases that are good for finding articles related to psychology. For a more complete list of databases, visit the Articles/Databases​ section of the Psychology subject guide.

Finding articles can be tricky. Being persistent and asking for help when you need it are key in finding what you need. Below are some general tips for finding articles:

  • Search more than one database. Each database has different content and features different types of information.
  • If you search a database and don't like your results, try to figure out why you got the results you did, adjust your search strategy, and try again. You may have to try several times (That's normal!).
  • Keep a list of keywords and related words that you are using to search. If you see a good word while you're searching, add it to your list. Try different combinations of words when searching and see how your results change.
  • Take a moment to look at and use the "limiter" or "refine by" options on the left or right side of the database. These can save you a lot of time and really focus your search.
  • Searching is about persistence, trial and error, and creativity. If you feel stuck or frustrated, save yourself some time and ask your librarian for advice.

APA Citation of Articles/Books


APA Citation of Websites


RefWorks Citation Manager

A great tool for gathering your citations and getting them started.

**Always be sure to double-check that your citations are correct when using an automatic citation program such as RefWorks.**

Loading

SNAP Program

Most articles will discuss specific aspects of the SNAP program. Background information about the SNAP program might be present in the Introduction section of some articles.

Tips:

  • Type the entire program name when searching. Typing only "SNAP" will produce many irrelevant results.
  • If you get too many search results, add a second search term.
  • Be sure to limit your results to only peer-reviewed articles.
Loading