Skip to main content

Deaf Education - Denton

Welcome to the Deaf Education Subject Guide

The following databases contain information on Communication Sciences & Disorders. Hover over a database name for details.

Effective Searching must be planned and methodical. Below are suggested steps for searching.

1. Know your topic. (Background Information)
       
Dates, names, spellings, definitions, symptoms, etc.

2. List all the search terms for the topic you can think of.
       
Think SYNONYMS: Formal, Informal, and Technical

3. Ask yourself where might information on your topic be located. 
       Internet? Books? Newspapers? Journals? 

4. Choose your search tool.
      TWUniversal?  A Database?  Google?  Google Scholar?

5. Decide which information format you want.
      
Article?  Video?  Book Chapter?  Audio file?  Image?

6. Make a plan.
     Database  +  search terms X, Y & Z  +  peer-review

7. Explore your topic in several places. 
      Analyze your results. Which search terms work best?

8. Search again and again and again.
      Keep testing search terms in different databases.

9. Archive your citations in RefWorks.
      Let RefWorks create your Bibliography automatically.

10. Can't find what you are looking for?
      Ask the Librarian assigned to this Subject Guide for help.

Example Database Search for articles:

Database Search Example with Boolean

Example Google Scholar Search for articles:

Google Scholar Search example with Boolean

 

Loading ...

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education cover     

 

 

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Advance Access - articles published online ahead of print


Loading ...

Department of
Communication Sciences & Disorders

Education of the Deaf Program
P.O. Box 425737
Denton, TX  76204-5737
940-898-2028 phone
940-898-2070 fax
940-222-6848 video phone
Program Web Page
 

Kenneth Evans's picture
Kenneth Evans
Contact:
940-898-3710