VideosWebsites
General PublicConsumer Health NewsHealth Tools
Cultural CompetencyPro-Health for Seniors
Impact FactorsFaculty ServicesBb & Copyright
This is the "CONSUMER HEALTH Home" page of the "Consumer Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Consumer Health  

Consumer Health
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.twu.edu/consumerhealth Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

CONSUMER HEALTH Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CONSUMER HEALTH

Learn by Doing TWU QEP logo 

Doctor listening to chest sounds of child

Consumer Health:

Information intended for potential users of medical and healthcare services. There is an emphasis on self-care and preventive approaches as well as information for community-wide dissemination and use. (PubMed MeSH 2008)


Patient Education:

The teaching or training of patients concerning their own health needs.
(PubMed MeSH 2008)

 

Health Reform in Action

White House logo

Health Reform in Action

This website is designed to help provide consumers with critical information regarding new health reform legislation.

 

Survey

Was this Consumer Health Subject LibGuide helpful?



Suggested Databases

  • CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
    CINAHL provides Evidence-Based Care Sheets to database users - located at the center top of the CINAHL search page in the big blue banner. Database users may also choose 'Publication Type' to find "Consumer/Patient Teaching Materials". On the search page, scroll down below the big green banner.
    (TWU login required.)
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and men & women's health. Offers fact-sheets/pamphlets, videos, drug & herb info, images, diagrams, as well as evidence reports and alternative health sources.
    (TWU login required.)
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Updated on a daily basis.
    (TWU login required.)
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center
    Directly below the Search textbox, select the Consumer Health option.
    (TWU login required.)
  • AND Much Much More
    The TWU Databases contain many other sources of Consumer Health Information. Click the 'Databases/Articles' tab above to find more consumer heath information available in TWU databases.
 

Consumer Health = Daily NEWS

MedlinePlus
(National Library of Medicine / National Institutes of Health)

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

AHRQ: Consumer Health News (Evidence Based)

Navigating Health Care

From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Evidence-Based Consumer / Patient Information

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Medical Pronunciations

Merck Manuals
Online Medical Library
Home Edition
For Patients and Caregivers

Pronunciations

Click a medical term and listen to the correct pronunciation.

 

Contact

Health Sciences Librarians:

DENTON CAMPUS:
Elaine Cox
Texas Woman's University
Blagg-Huey Library
P.O. Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204
Phone: 940.898.3701
Email: reference@twu.edu

DALLAS CAMPUS:
Eula Oliphant   &   Shelly Burns
T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences
Health Sciences Library
5500 Southwestern Medical Avenue
Dallas, TX 75235-7299
Phone: 214.689.6585

HOUSTON CAMPUS:
Marilyn Goff
Institute of Health Sciences
Academic Resource Center
6700 Fannin Street
Houston, TX 77030-4132
Phone: 713.794.2481

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip