Skip to main content

Children's Collection: Children's Collection

Children's Collection

Welcome to the

Children’s Collection

 
 

Location:                                    
Has recently been relocated to the first floor, betwe

The Children’s Collection, located in Blagg-Huey Library on the First Floor between the elevators and the snack room; comprised of over 39,000 books. The collection of illustrated children’s books, original artwork and teen literature supports the School of Library and Information Sciences, the Department of Education in the College of Professional Education and art students from the College Arts and Sciences. It also serves as a resource for the children of TWU students.

Margarita Engle Named Young People’s Poet Laureate

Margarita Engle Named Young People’s Poet Laureate Award recognizes a career devoted to writing exceptional poetry for young readers. 

May 11th, 2017
See the full story at https://www.poetryfoundation.org/foundation/press/detail/2017/142016
Her website:   http://www.margaritaengle.com/

Margarita Engle is the national 2017-2019 Young People’s Poet Laureate, and the first Latino to receive that honor. She is the Cuban- American author of many verse novels, including The Surrender Tree, a Newbery Honor winner, and The Lightning Dreamer, a PEN USA Award winner. Her verse memoir, Enchanted Air, received the Pura Belpré Award, Golden Kite Award, Walter Dean Myers Honor, and Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award, among others. Drum Dream Girl received the Charlotte Zolotow Award for best picture book text.

Books by her at TWU:

Drum dream girl : how one girl's courage changed music.  2015
     Children's Collection (PZ7.E7158 Dru 2015 )
Enchanted air : two cultures, two wings : a memoir.  2015
     Children's Collection (PS3555.N4254 Z46 2015 )
Firefly letters : a suffragette's journey to Cuba.  2010
     Children's Collection (PS3555.N4254 F57 2010 )
Hurricane dancers : the first Caribbean pirate shipwreck.  2011
     Children's Collection (PS3555.N4254 H87 2011 )
Lightning dreamer : Cuba's greatest abolitionist.  2013
     Children's Collection (PZ7.5.E54 Lig 2013 )
Mountain dog.  2014
     Children's Collection (PZ7.5.E54 Mo 2014 )
Poet slave of Cuba : a biography of Juan Francisco Manzano.  c2006
     Children's Collection (PS3555.N4254 P64 2006 )
Surrender tree : poems of Cuba's struggle for freedom. 2008
     Children's Collection (PS3555.N4254 S87 2008 )
Tropical secrets : Holocaust refugees in Cuba.  2009
     Children's Collection (PZ7.5.E54 Tr 2009 )

 

More about her:

"Engle, Margarita 1951–." Something About the Author, edited by Lisa Kumar, vol. 231, Gale, 2012, pp. 62-65. Gale Virtual Reference Library, http://ezproxy.twu.edu:2216/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw

"Engle, Margarita 1951–." Something About the Author, edited by Lisa Kumar, vol. 193, Gale, 2009, pp. 42-43. Gale Virtual Reference Library, http://ezproxy.twu.edu:2216/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=txshracd2583&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3274700030&asid=b75758df88cc801f4324b53695f1ea5e

Subject Librarian

Jimmie Lyn Harris
Contact:
Texas Woman's University Libraries
P. Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204
940-898-3740

Need an appointment?


 
OFFICE HOURS
Monday thorugh Friday
7:30 am - 4:30 pm
 
Information Desk.
940-898-3701 
Ask-A-Librarian at Reference@twu.edu.