Skip to main content

LLC: Homelessness

This LLC: Homelessness guide provides library and internet sources on the topic of homelessness.

Librarian

Susan Whitmer's picture
Susan Whitmer
Contact:
TWU Libraries
P.O. Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204

SWhitmer@twu.edu
940-898-3739

 

 

Articles and Databases

 

 

Finding Articles

The following databases contain information on sociology topics including homelessness. Hover over the database title for descriptions of their contents.

1. Choose a database to search.

2. If available, go to the Advanced Search function in the database you are using. This allows for more relevant and precise searching.

3. If available, use a Subject search term instead of a keyword. This will give you results about your topic instead of results that merely mention your search term.

  • Start with a broad/general subject search term.
  • If you have too many results, add another search term and/or use limiters (Date, Publication Type, etc.).
  • If you have too few or no results, try other search terms or use a keyword search and look for subject terms within those results that can be used in a new subject search.

4. Read abstracts and subject terms associated with the article to determine whether it will be relevant to your research.

5. If you have any trouble accessing the full-text version of an article, contact the library for assistance.

Phone: (940) 898-3701.  Email: reference@mail.twu.edu

 

Citation Styles

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL) is the place to start when you have questions about citations. It is freely available to anyone with an internet connection. The two most popular citation styles for undergraduates are APA and MLA. Use the Purdue OWL to find sample papers, in-text citation examples, and works cited examples.

  • Purdue OWL APA Guide here
  • Purdue OWL MLA Guide here


RefWorks Citation Manager

A great tool for gathering your citations and getting them started.

**Always be sure to double-check that your citations are correct when using an automatic citation program such as RefWorks.**

Loading ...