Skip to main content

ART 3393: Professional Practice

 

ART 3393: Professional Practices

for the Visual Arts

 

Discussion 1: The Job Search

Discussion 1: The Job Search

Here's a list of Internet sites for job searching. To use these sites to their fullest potential, enter these search terms in your browser: "(Site name) for Graphic Designers" and "Alternatives to (Site name) for Artists." For example, enter this search string into your browser, "LinkedIn for Graphic Designers."

Also consider joining a graphic design association. A membership in a graphic design association demonstrates that you are interested in professional growth. Some associations to consider:

  • AIGA aiga.org - the professional association for design
  • SEGD segd.org - Society for Experiential Graphic Design.

Discussion 2: Job & Grad Program Search

Discussion 2: Job & Graduate Program Search

Read all of the following book excerpts and articles:

Discussion 3: Interview Skills

Discussion 3: Interview Skills

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Databases>Databases A-Z List
  3. In the All Database Types pull-down menu, select Newspapers>New York Times
  4. Enter the search term "interview skills"​
  5. For current information, filter by date

Discussion 4: Negotiating Salaries, Legal & Ethical Guides for Visual Artists, Professional Etiquette

Discussion 4: Negotiating Salaries, Legal & Ethical Guides for Visual Artists, Professional Etiquette

 

Negotiating Salaries

Current information on "wages and salary and negotiation*" can be found at business-related journals and newspapers.

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Databases>Databases A-Z List
  3. In the All Database Types pull-down menu, select Newspapers>New York Times
  4. Enter the search term "wages and salary and negotiation*"​
  5. For current information, filter by date

Find current salary information at the government website, Occupational Outlook Handbook

Sample search

  1. Start at the Occupational Outlook Handbook, https://www.bls.gov/ooh
  2. In the search box, enter Graphic Designers
  3. Select the first result, Graphic Designers
  4. On the landing page, you will find information about salary, employment outlook, and geographic information about graphic designers

 

Legal Guides for Visual Artists

Current information on legal guides for visual artists

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Advanced Search
  3. Enter the search string "legal guides" AND artists
  4. For current information, filter by date

 

Professional Etiquette

Current information on "professional etiquette"

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Advanced Search
  3. Enter the search string "professional etiquette"
  4. For current information, filter by date

Supporting Materials: Applying for Juried Exhibitions, Competitions, & Artist Residencies

Supporting Materials: Juried Exhibitions, Competitions, & Artists' Residencies

TWU Career Connections Center

TWU Career Connections

The TWU Career Connections Center works with the student and alumni communities on the Denton, Dallas, and Houston campuses. TWU Career Connections mission is to provide a number of programs to educate, develop, and assist students and alumni in successfully meeting the challenges of an ever-changing world of work. We also build and maintain quality relationships with potential employers, who are another important piece of the career development process.

Denton Center

Woodcock Hall
Suite 200
P.O. Box 425619
Denton, TX 76209
940.898.2950
940.898.2956 (Fax)
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm
careers@twu.edu

Dallas Center

Career Consultant – Dallas
Student Life Office, Suite 3603
214-689-6737
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm
careers@twu.edu

Houston Center

Career Consultant – Houston
OneStop, Rm 1300-J
713-794-2331
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm
careers@twu.edu