This family-focused text that provides comprehensive coverage of maternal-newborn nursing and women's health with special attention to evidence-based practice, cultural competence, critical thinking, professionalism, patient education, and home/community care. Accurate, readable, personal, and engaging, OLDS' MATERNAL-NEWBORN NURSING & WOMEN'S HEALTH ACROSS THE LIFESPAN, 9/e reflects a deep understanding of pregnancy and birth as normal life processes, and of family members as partners in care. This edition includes a deeper discussion of childbirth at risk; four new nursing care plans; updated coverage of contraception, complementary/alternative therapies, and much more. New teaching features include Professionalism in Practice and Health Promotion Education boxes, Clinical Judgment case studies, and Critical Thinking questions. This edition also aligns more closely with AACN's Essentials of Baccalaureate Education for Professional Nursing Practice.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse
by Laura L. Finley (Editor)
This comprehensive, two-volume work examines domestic abuse in the United States and worldwide, providing research, personal stories, and primary documents that reveal the extent of the problem. * Presents personal narratives that highlight the importance of each survivor's unique experience with abuse * Includes primary source documents that address key legislation and court cases * Provides a wide range of resources for researchers, such as recommended reading and film lists as well as state, national, and international organizations related to domestic abuse
Shapers of the Great Debate on Women's Rights
by Joyce D. Duncan
The three waves of feminism are explored through the lives of the women who made history in bringing women's issues to the forefront of American society. Many early feminists supported not only women's rights, but also rights of slaves and contributed to the passing of the Thirteenth Amendment, granting emancipation to slaves. They continued to work towards women's suffrage and were hopeful the Fourteenth Amendment would provide universal suffrage. However, women were not granted suffrage until the passing of the Nineteenth Amendment, nearly fifty years later. It was women's fundamental need for independence and an identity of their own, separate from that of men, which thrust the women's movement forward and continues to propel it today. Many notable women, such as Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Billie Jean King, Betty Friedan, Helen Gurley Brown, Jane Fonda, and Sandra Day O'Connor, are included in this history of the women's movement in America. The biographical entries cite works for further reading, and the volume closes with a bibliography. The Shapers of the Great Debate series takes a biographical approach to history, following the premise that people make history in the circumstances in which they find themselves. Each volume in this series examines the lives and experiences of the individuals involved in a particular debate through both major and minor biographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
by Bonnie G. Smith (Editor)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history. The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
by Jodi A. O'Brien (Editor)
2009 RUSA Outstanding Reference CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-nationaloss-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Women Adventurers, 1750-1900
by Mary F. McVicker
Call Number: Woman's Collection (G245 .M38 2008 )
Publication Date: 2008-01-25
A biographical dictionary that provides a guide to prominent female travelers of the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Organized alphabetically by the adventurers' last names, each entry features biographical information including the woman's family background, her educational history, and a brief summary of her world travels.
A to Z of Greek and Roman Women
by Marjorie Lightman; Benjamin Lightman
Providing a vibrant new perspective on women in the classical world, ""A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women, Revised Edition"" includes more than 500 fascinating life stories ranging from pagan Greece in the seventh century BCE to the rise of Christianity in the fourth century CE. Included in this accessible and user-friendly dictionary are tales from all corners of the Greek and Roman worlds - from Britain and Egypt to Syria and Mauritania. The authors of this invaluable reference guide have created multidimensional and intriguing biographies of women from all walks of life - poets and poisoners, wives and mistresses, businesswomen and slaves, rulers and victims - all noted for their accomplishments as well as their family ties.This new edition includes approximately 100 new biographies, a revised introduction, an expanded bibliography, updated further readings, an index, and new photographs and maps. New entries highlight biographies of women throughout the Mediterranean who participated in the violent formative years of Christianity during the fourth and fifth centuries. In addition, biographies of women memorialized in inscriptions and recorded on papyri have been added to those appearing in the literary sources, both in the earlier and later centuries.
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics
by Lynne E. Ford
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics contains all the material a reader needs to understand the role of women throughout America's political history. This informative A-to-Z volume covers the people, events, and terms involved in the history of women and politics. Suitable for a high school and junior college audience, this comprehensive encyclopedia also provides a biography for every woman who has served in the U.S. House of Representatives, the Senate, and the Supreme Court.Broad topics, such as sexual harassment, are cross-referenced with key events and people who are relevant to the topic. Appendixes include a chronology of highlights in women's political history, as well as additional documents.
From ancient times to the present day, scientifically inclined women in many cultures have had to battle against the traditional belief that men are more cognitively adept than women. At times throughout history, women were persecuted for their attempts to break down traditional gender barriers. Today, women scientists and mathematicians must continue to defend the quality of their work and demand the respect they deserve in the mathematical and scientific communities.""A to Z of Women in Science and Math, Revised Edition"" profiles 195 women who fought against these stereotypes throughout history and all over the world to forge new discoveries and theories that would eventually change the way we view science. This thoroughly revised book updates the story of each individual to the present day and features 38 new profiles. Among the profiles included are those of chemists, astronomers, geologists, environmental scientists, and a range of other professions and careers. In addition, new photographs have been added, and the bibliography has been updated. Subject indexes allow the reader to search by such professions as ""microbiology"" and ""paleontology."" Additional subject indexes organize individuals by country of birth, country of major scientific activity, and year of birth.
Written by four doctors from the Mayo Clinic, this comprehensive women's health book presents straightforward, unbiased facts, incorporating both traditional and modern medicine. Full-color photographs throughout.
Critical Companion to Flannery O'Connor
by Connie Ann Kirk
Call Number: General Collection (PS3565.C57 Z735 2008 )
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Widely acclaimed as one of the finest short-story writers and known for her acerbic wit, complex themes, and illuminating portrayal of the American South, Flannery O'Connor is a favorite among students, scholars, and general readers. Known for her stories ""A Good Man Is Hard to Find"" and ""Everything that Rises Must Converge,"" O'Connor's work often appears on class syllabi and in college courses today.""Critical Companion to Flannery O'Connor"" examines her life and works, and includes critical analyses of some of the themes in her writing, as well as entries on related topics and relevant people, places, and influences.
Handbook for prison managers and policymakers on women and Imprisonment
by Tomris Atabay; United Nations: Office on Drugs and Crime
The main focus of the handbook is female prisoners and guidance on the components of a gender-sensitive approach to prison management, taking into account the typical background of female prisoners and their special needs as women in prison. This handbook forms part of a series of tools developed by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime to support countries in implementing the rule of law and development of criminal justice systems, including policymakers, legislators, prison managers, prison staff, members of non-governmental organizations and other individuals interested or active in the field of criminal justice and prison reform. It can be used in a variety of contexts, both as a reference document or as a training tool.