Skip to main content

Nutrition & Food Sciences: Articles / Databases

Nutrition and food sciences research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.

Articles / Databases

Photo credit: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 2004

Frequently Asked Questions

Databases house articles from journals and magazines and make them searchable. No single database contains all journals or articles, so it is best to search multiple databases.
The term journal is often used for publications that contain academic articles. Journals can be issued once per year, twice per year, or even weekly. Each issue of the journal contains new articles. These issues are later combined to create volumes.
Some journals require article submissions to go through a peer review process before being accepted for publication. During this process, experts from the same field as the author review the article to ensure that research methods are sound and that the article advances the field of study. This process prevents the publication of articles that make false claims and misinform readers.

Finding & Citing Articles

Databases containing articles and information on nutrition and other topics. Click on a database title to begin.

1. Choose a database to search. You may need to search more than one!

2. If available, go to the Advanced Search in the database you are using. This allows for more precise searching.

3. Type each of your search words into a different search bar. Search.

4. Read abstracts and subject terms associated with the article to determine whether it will be relevant to your research.

5. To view the full article, look for something that is a PDF or says Full Text.

6. If you have any trouble accessing the full-text version of an article, contact the library for assistance.

Phone: (940) 898-3701     Email: reference@twu.edu

Citation Styles

Below are some citation styles commonly used in the NFS field. Ask your instructor which style you should use for your course.


RefWorks Citation Manager

A great tool for gathering your citations and getting them started.

**Always be sure to double-check that your citations are correct when using an automatic citation program such as RefWorks.**

Loading

Can't access the article you need?

If you have trouble accessing a specific article, ask the library for help or try the following:

Dissertation Databases

DISSERTATIONS

Dissertations often contain good primary research. Try the following full-text databases to find dissertations.