Skip to main content

Chemistry: Articles / Databases

Chemistry research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.

Finding Articles

These databases contain articles and information about chemistry, biology, medicine, and more. If you'd like help learning a database, ask your librarian.

1. Choose a database to search (see a list of databases below).

2. If available, go straight to the Advanced Search function in the database you are using. This allows for more relevant and precise searching.

3. If available, use a Subject search term instead of a keyword. This will give you results about your topic instead of results that merely mention your search term.

  • Start with a broad/general subject search term.
  • If you have too many results, add another search term and/or use limiters (Date, Publication Type, etc.).
  • If you have too few or no results, try other search terms or use a keyword search and look for subject terms within those results that can be used in a new subject search.

4. Read abstracts and subject terms associated with the article to determine whether it will be relevant to your research.

5. If you have any trouble accessing the full-text version of an article, contact the library for assistance.

Phone: (940) 898-3701.  Email: reference@mail.twu.edu

Ask your instructor what style of citation you should use. A great tool for gathering your citations and getting them started is RefWorks.

Always be sure to double-check that your citations are correct when using an automatic citation program such as RefWorks.

Loading

Can't access the article you need?

If you have trouble accessing a specific article, ask the library for help or try the following:

Dissertation Databases

DISSERTATIONS

Dissertations often contain good primary research. Try the following full-text databases to find dissertations.