Biology research guide for TWU students, faculty and staff.
Last Updated: Apr 5, 2013
Updated in Real Time
- World Population
- Government & Economics
- Society & Media
Available in 32 languages. Data Sources: here
Sense About Science (pdf)
Making sense of science stories:
--"leaflet for people who follow debates about science and medicine in the news"
--"explains how scientists present and judge research and how you can ask questions of the scientific information presented to you"
Did you find the Biology resources on this page helpful?
To find journal articles on BIOLOGY topics, we recommend using the following databases first. These databases contain the most articles on the widest variety of topics in BIOLOGY. For MORE database suggestions, click on the Databases/Articles tab above.
- Academic Search Complete
Always a good place to start any research. Database is college-level and covers all topics generally.
Multidisciplinary database of online journals published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries, scholarly societies, and other publishers. Database covers the sciences, engineering, social sciences, and some humanities.
- Science & Technology Collection
Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
Topics include biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.
From the National Agricultural Library. The National Houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.
- Medline with Full-Text (EBSCO)
The definitive research database for medical literature. Useful for medicine, anatomy, animal research.
- PubMed Remote
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals back to the 1950s. PubMed is a free public database, but please, login through TWU Libraries webpages to ensure connectivity to our full-text articles.
A comprehensive database for scientific, technical and medical information. Offers citation mapping and author search. Good for comprehensive lit reviews.
When looking for information for teaching BIOLOGY try these databases.
From the US Dept of Education. The world's largest database of education literature.
- Middle Search Plus (Middle/Junior High School Level)
Contains popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Contains biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Wilson Web Mid & Jr H Core Collection
Fiction and nonfiction books for young people in grades five through nine, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification.
- Wilson Web Senior High Core Collection
Fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification.
- MAS Ultra: School Edition (High School Level)
Designed specifically for high school. Covers topics of popular general interest and current events. Provides full text pamphlets, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Student Research Center (EBSCOhost)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in all subject fields.
Trusted news sources for BIOLOGY:
Amphibians in the News
Contact the TWU SLRC
The TWU Science Learning Resource Center offers a wide variety of self-help programs for freshman and sophomore students taking BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, and PHYSICS coursess. The SLR Center also offers tutoring, and administers TWU's Science Placement Exams to entering students.
Science Learning Resource Center (SLRC)
Science Bldg Denton Campus
Hours: M-Th 9-6; F 9-3