Skip to main content

ART 3393: Professional Practice: Home

 

 

Sources for ART 3393

Professional Practice for the Visual Arts

 

Sources for Professional Practice Discussion Assignments

On this page you'll find sources for your professional practice discussion assignments.

Discussion 1: Assessing Job Skills

Discussion 2: Internet Search for Jobs

Discussion 3: Interviewing Skills

Discussion 4: Negotiating Salaries and Legal Guides for Visual Artists

Discussion 5: Legal and Ethical Issues for Artists

 

Discussion 1: Assessing Job Skills

Discussion 1: Assessing Job Skills

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Advanced Search
  3. In the search box , enter terms relevant to job skills:
    1. "graphic designer" AND skills
    2. "job skills" AND "visual artists"
  4. In the Publication Date pull-down menu, select Last 5 years

Discussion 2: Internet Search for Jobs

Discussion 2: Internet Search for Jobs

Here's a list of Internet sites for job searching. To use these sites to their fullest potential, search for articles in TWUniversal about the specific site and your specific interest. For example: "LinkedIn for Graphic Designers" and "Alternatives to LinkedIn for Artists."

Discussion 3: Interviewing Skills

Discussion 3: Interview Skills

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Advanced Search
  3. In the search box, enter "interview skills"
  4. In the Publication Date pull-down menu, select Last 5 years

 

Discussion 4: Negotiating Salaries and Legal Guides for Visual Artists

Discussion 4: Negotiating Salaries and Legal Guides for Visual Artists

Current information on "salary negotiation" can be found at business-related journals and newspapers.

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Databases>Databases A-Z List
  3. In the All Database Types pull-down menu, select Newspapers>Wall Street Journal OR New York Times
  4. Enter the search term "salary negotiation"

 

Find current salary information at the government website, Occupational Outlook Handbook

Sample search

  1. Start at the Occupational Outlook Handbook, https://www.bls.gov/ooh
  2. In the search box, enter Graphic Designers
  3. Select the first result, Graphic Designers
  4. On the landing page, you will find information about salary, employment outlook, and geographic information about graphic designers

Current information on "legal guides for visual artists"

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Advanced Search
  3. Enter the search string "legal guides for visual artists"

Discussion 5: Legal and Ethical Issues for Artists

Discussion 5: Legal and Ethical Issues for Artists

Current information on "legal issues" AND "ethical issues" AND artists can be found using the Art databases.

  1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library
  2. Select Databases>Databases A-Z List
  3. In the All Subjects pull-down menu, select Art or Law databases
  4. Select a database from the lists and enter these search terms, "legal issues" AND "ethical issues" AND artists 

 

Case studies of legal and ethical issues for artists:

1. 5Pointz Aerosol Art Center 

2. Sam Durant's Scaffold and the Walker Art Center

3. The estate of Vivian Maier

4. Larry Philpot and Creative Commons

5. Steve Tobin's Trinity Church 9/11 Memorial

Librarian

Susan Whitmer's picture
Susan Whitmer
Contact:
TWU Libraries
P.O. Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204

SWhitmer@twu.edu
940-898-3739

TWU Career Connections Center

TWU Career Connections

The TWU Career Connections Center works with the student and alumni communities on the Denton, Dallas, and Houston campuses. Our mission is to provide a number of programs to educate, develop, and assist students and alumni in successfully meeting the challenges of an ever-changing world of work. We also build and maintain quality relationships with potential employers, who are another important piece of the career development process.

Denton Center

Woodcock Hall
Suite 200
P.O. Box 425619
Denton, TX 76209
940.898.2950
940.898.2956 (Fax)
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm
careers@twu.edu

Dallas Center

Career Consultant – Dallas
Student Life Office, Suite 3603
214-689-6737
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm
careers@twu.edu

Houston Center

Career Consultant – Houston
OneStop, Rm 1300-J
713-794-2331
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm
careers@twu.edu