Skip to main content

ART 3293: Design 1: Identity & Symbols

Sources for your graphic design assignments.

 

Sources for ART 3293

Design 1: Identity & Symbols

Databases

Browsing books

Browsing books is a great way to get inspired and discover new designers. Be sure to browse our oversized and regular-sized stacks.

NC Drawing, Design, & Illustration
   NC845 - N915 Graphic Art Materials
   NC950 - N996 Illustration
   NC997 - NC1003 Commercial Art & Advertising
   NC1800 - NC1850 Posters
   NC1860 - NC1896 Greeting Cards, Book Jackets, Etc.
P Linguistics
   P99 Signs & Symbols
TS Manufactures
   TS195 - TS198 Packaging
Z Library Science
   Z116 - Z265 Book Design & Printing, Typography

two tone burnt orange rectangle

How to find an article

1. Start at the TWU Libraries home page, twu.edu/library

2. Click on Databases>Databases A-Z list

3. For Art Databases, click the All Subjects pull-down list and select Art 

4. Select a database, enter your search terms in the search box

5. If available, go to the Advanced Search function in the database you are using. This allows for more relevant and precise searching.

6. Use a Subject terms instead of keywords. This will give you results about your topic instead of results that merely mention your search term.

  • Start with a broad/general subject search term.
  • If you have too many results, add another search term and/or use limiters (Date, Publication Type, etc.).
  • If you have too few or no results, try other search terms or use a keyword search and look for subject terms within those results that can be used in a new subject search.

4. Read abstracts and subject terms associated with the article to determine whether it will be relevant to your research.

5. If you have any trouble accessing the full-text version of an article, contact the library for assistance.

Phone: (940) 898-3701.  Email: reference@mail.twu.edu

Librarian

Susan Whitmer's picture
Susan Whitmer
Contact:
TWU Libraries
P.O. Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204

SWhitmer@twu.edu
940-898-3739